News Archive Rugby Rugby News

Thurstan clinch schools U-20 Rugby Sevens title

LEFT TO RIGHT – Mr.Duminda Wickramahewa (Master in charge) , Ishara Galaboda, Sanoj Nanayakkara, Ishara Muthumala (Captain),Sasanka Ariyarathne, Yasiru Lakitha, Ranga Christy, Kanishka Bandara, Gamini Indrasena (Coach)
LEFT TO RIGHT – Sasindu Gihan,Ajiyh Nettiya , Lahuru Dasun, Nirosh Nonis
RUGBY: Thurstan College came up with a stupendous performance to score a sensational 12 points (one goal, one try) to 10 (two tries) win over traditional rivals Isipatana College in the final of the Cup Championship of the Singer Trophy Schools under 20 Seven-A-Side Rugby Tournament played at Havelock Park yesterday. At the breather Thurstan led 12-5.

Isipatana opened scoring in the second minute when centre Ashan de Costa scored under the posts after a superb 40 metre run. He missed the conversion.
Two minutes later, Thurstan snatched the lead when off a five metre scrum their scrum half Lahiru Dasun scampered through to touch down under the posts. Sanoj Nanayakkara made no mistake with the conversion.

In the sixth minute Thurstan increased the lead when Sanoj Nanayakkara made a break in midfield but was brought down a few metres from the goal line but fly half N. P. Nonis who was backing up picked up the ball and scored mid left. Sanoj Nanayakkara failed to add the extra points and Thurstan led 12-5 at ‘lemons’.
In the fourth minute, after resumption Isipatana’s winger Kasun Gamage scored mid left after a powerful 40 metre run but Ashan de Costa missed the conversion much to the dismay of their supporters and Thurstan ran out worthy winners by 12 points to 10.
Dharmapala Nimal refereed.
Prince of Wales College, Moratuwa bagged the Plate Championship by beating Piliyandala MMV by 10 points (two tries) to 5 (one try) in the final.
In the semi finals, Prince of Wales beat Maliyadeva 22-0 while Piliyandala MMV overcame Eheliyagoda MMV 17-0.
Isipatana ‘B’ clinched the Bowl Championship with a smashing 24 points (two goals, two tries) to nil win over Ananda ‘B’ in the final. In the semi finals, Isipatana ‘B’ beat Asoka MV 29-0 while Ananda ‘B’ overcame Nalanda ‘B’ 15-0

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *