H.E. the President Mahinda Rajapaksa All Island Swimming Championship 2011

H.E. Mahinda Rajapaksa All Island Swimming Championship for the year 2011 was successfully held on 16th and 17th July 2011 at the Thurstan College Swimming Pool Complex. This was the inaugural year of the Championship, which is the only kind of swimming championship under the name of H.E. President Mahinda Rajapaksa in the island; organized by the Thurstan Old Boys Union with collaboration of the school authorities. The event was a major success with participants from all parts of the island including the North and the East, with a total participation of 1000 athletes from over 100 schools. This was one of the most successful events held since it filled a void in the swimming arena to have such a large scale championship, organized by a school and honoured by H.E. the President Mahinda Rajapaksa.

Nalanda College emerged as the Boys Champions while Anula Vidyalaya emerged as the Girls Champions.

This competitive swimming meet is what every school look out for as an annual event and we wish all participants in the upcoming years best of luck.

Photographs of the event are shown below,



Boys Champions – Nalanda College Girls Champions – Anula Vidyalaya

Awarded by Major General Mohan Sumanasena Awarded by YAND Yapa - Principal Thurstan College



Hoisting of the flags Opening Ceremony

Category Winners Awarded by Sujeewa Perera (Thurstan OBU Joint Secretary)

> 1st Runner up Awarded by Major General Mohan Sumanasena

Final Results - 2011

Boys Champion - Nalanda College Girls Champion - Anula Vidyalaya

Runner up Boys - St. Sebastians College

Runner up Girls - Sirimavo Bandaranaike Vidyalaya

Senior Champion Boys - St. Sebastians College

Senior Champion Girls - Sirimavo Bandaranike Vidyalaya

Junior Champion Boys - D S Senanayke College

Junior Champion Girls - Anula Vidyalaya

Individual Championships

Under 8 Girls - Ananya Kalyanasundaram - Lyceum International School Wattala
Under 8 Boys - Savin Kaluarachchi - Lyceum International School Nugegoda

Under 10 Girls
 Under 10 Boys
 P Arukshan - St.Thomas' College Mt.Lavinia
 Under 12 Girls
 Sithumi Fernando - Dankotuwa Girls School
 Under 12 Boys
 Kavindu Perera - D.S. Senanayake College
 Under 14 Girls
 Rasika Arunodani - Anula Vidyalaya Nugegoda

Under 14 Boys - S Rajapakse - Asian International School

Under 16 Girls - Isuri Wijesinghe - Leeds International School Panadura

Under 16 Boys - Nandana Pushpakumara - Asoka Vidyalaya

Under 19 Girls - Ishani Senanayake - Samudradevi Balika Vidyalaya

Under 19 Boys - Udara Abeysinghe - Thurstan College